Home > Journey to Fatherhood, Uncategorized > Journey to Fatherhood – Part 4

Journey to Fatherhood – Part 4

I flew from Hyderabad to Lucknow (my parent’s place) to be with my wife during the delivery. It was very relieving after every thing went on smoothly. When a child arrives, we want to keep the memories of baby’s early years alive. We take hundreds of baby pictures and videos so that we can relive the memories whenever we want. Loads and loads of shopping are done from nappies to wardrobe to welcome the new guest in the family. . We prepare a great feast and invite friends and relatives. At the end of the feasting and merriment, each of visiting members make a wish for the baby. Sweets are distributed among the relatives and neighbours and many rituals are performed to celebrate the beginning of a new generation. Naming ceremony is performed on a specific date under perfect suitable astrological state as suggested by priests after proper name is identified for the baby. All the above mentioned activities were carried out at the birth of my baby too.

But I never wanted to be a mere witness and show my fatherly emotions only while playing with the baby. I was with my wife and baby only for 12 days and then I had to come back to my workplace, leaving them with my parents for another 4 months. I know that I will be raising my kid and fulfil my responsibilities of being a father, but I wanted to experience that period also when my kid was only a few days old and giving me sleepless nights. Moreover, I also wanted to take care of wife after her operation during whatever time I could spend with her before returning to Hyderabad. So I ensured that I would be with my baby and my wife for all those nights I would be in Lucknow.

After spending 5 nights in hospital, it was a real test to begin back at home as there were no nurses and we had to do it all on our own. Since Pooja took a big cut in surgery, so she was yet not comfortable to get up from the bed without any support. Somebody always had to be with her to get her anything she needed. Now I was ready to be on duty, sorry..I wont call it duty because at times a duty could be forced upon, but for me it was by choice to experience the celestial experience of life.

Surely, babies have such a great life !! But poor thing, they never remember what luxury of life they had enjoyed when they were toddlers.

Now when my baby’s naming ceremony is over, I will call him by his name, Darsh. Just about everything Darsh does is so cute and adorable. While sleeping, he smiles…changes his facial expressions, makes strange sounds, all that is so mesmerizing to watch.

Ohh.. I was telling you about spending my nights with Darsh, but got deviated in due course. As Darsh had no sleeping pattern, so we also had follow his timings to take sleep. Like any other new born baby, to notify us of any of his activity or hunger, Darsh would only cry. If he was not sleeping and probably getting bored lying on the bed and wanted attention, he would start crying for somebody to lift him up. I always tried to wake up on Darsh’s wakeup call anytime during night before Pooja got disturbed. As I said, just about everything he does is so cute, even his stinky messy poop (you might have shrunk your eyebrows reading this, but believe me you might as well say the same thing after you will become a father). It took me a while to get over my resistance to change poopy nappies. But being a modern father, I really enjoyed changing his nappies many times in a night. I would only disturb Pooja whenever it was necessary.

Darsh was mostly sleeping in daytime and woke up during night, especially mid-night to 4’O Clock early morning. Sometimes he wanted proper entertainment when half of the world was sleeping. So I had to lift him and walk here and there talking to him in non-understandable languages. Exhausting at times, sometimes even frustrating, but I was loving each and every moment. These are the moments which I want to cherish forever in my life. I know someday things will change, but I wish it does not….

WordPress Tags: Journey,Part,Hyderabad,parent,wife,memories,pictures,Loads,wardrobe,guest,friends,merriment,generation,ceremony,activities,workplace,responsibilities,father,period,Moreover,operation,hospital,Pooja,surgery,Somebody,times,life,babies,luxury,toddler,Darsh,Just,expressions,attention,poop,resistance,daytime,Clock,Sometimes,entertainment,world,moment,members,emotions,languages,moments,nappies

  1. Tanu
    December 18, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Humm…so you are enjoying your fatherhood Somu. Waise naam accha hai..Darsh

    • upmaan
      December 18, 2009 at 7:43 pm

      thnks dear .. :-)) .. and indeed enjoying this divine feeling

  2. Arun
    December 21, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Darsh bete!! Its time to avenge ur Grandpa.. keep bugging ur paa..

    • upmaan
      December 21, 2009 at 10:50 am

      waapis India aja betey tu pehley … fir weekends per apney Bete ko tere ghar hi bheja karunga …. 😛

  3. Nayan
    December 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    waise i am a big fan of ur penned thoughts….but this one is really really nice…..i hope that darsh, pooja n u have a fun filled n wonderful life..

  4. Tanweer Noor
    December 23, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    gr8 buddy!!! please keep writing. 🙂

  5. February 5, 2010 at 9:52 am

    I read it all and I’m sure Darsh would be the luckiest baby to have you, a wonderful father. Keep up the good work, and please send my hug and kiss to Darsh and Pooja. ^_^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

