Home > Journey to Fatherhood > I missed it !!

I missed it !!

Yet another family function and I missed it again. Family members, relatives and family friends assembled in Lucknow while I was writing a blog and waiting for someone to send a few pictures of the celebrations. The occasion was to commemorate the welcome of two new members in our family, one my son and the other my sister’s son. Today I realised to the core what you lose if you are not working near your family. After utilizing five leaves from my quota in January, then one more visit to Delhi due in February and then going to my in-law’s place in March, I could not afford (professionally and yes, financially as well 😦 ) to make a trip to home for the event.

I tried hard to engross myself more into TV, internet and books, but failed consistently. I had been hearing for the last couple of weeks about the preparations going on for this day. Special garbs had been stitched for both the kiddos. Invitations were being sent to family friends and relatives. Discussions were going on to prepare the list for menu items for the dinner. It was by now around 20 days since I last saw my kid and wife, and amid of all these things I was dying to be in between them. I tried to call up Pooja to take in a whiff of cheerful evening over phone, but to my misfortune she never picked up as she was very busy attending to the guests. I had heard that kiddos were supposed to be adorned in Krishna getup and I was very eager to see them dressed like that. I wanted somebody to send me few pictures immediately so that I could satiate my pangs of desire. Finally, at 11:30 PM, Pooja picked up my call and gave me brief on what all happened during the eventful evening. I took a sigh of relief as party went on smoothly. Then I put my request and begged her to send few pictures of babies. She tried to express her inability to act on my call instantly as she had just arrived at home from the party venue and there were so many things to finish off before going to bed. However, the begging ability of a palpitating father forced the generous and kind woman to send the pictures at last. Although I would always feel a void for not registering my presence for the special moment, but those pictures were enough to get me a happy sleep meanwhile.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Rajeev
    February 1, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    Mast leekhe ho bhai….

  2. Rajeev
    February 1, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    aaj maine ek ek karke tere saare blogs padh daale 🙂

    • Anupam Singh
      February 2, 2010 at 4:13 am

      he he he … thnk u bhai 😀

  3. Tanu
    February 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Bothe the kids are looking very sweet..Oh I can understand Somu, How have you felt on missing the ceremony..

  4. anoop
    February 2, 2010 at 6:37 am

    Missing something will make one realise the worth.
    Nice narration.

  5. Anuj
    February 2, 2010 at 6:55 am

    wah wah…emotional kar diya…my grandfather is seriously ill. all of my relatives are gathered there to look after him. but i didn’t get time to go there. just enquiring about his health on phone 😦

  6. Priyadarsshini
    February 2, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Anupam… i am sure u missed a wonderful occassion…. never mind and cheer up u wld be honoured to host a number of such get togethers…. and Dharsh looks so sweet…. once u miss something u realize its importance,… sometimes important in life 🙂

  7. Syed
    February 2, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Anupam & Pooja congrates Once again. Both the kids are very good, God blesss them.
    Anupam thanks for sharing all these articles and Pic.

    Best Regards
    Syed

  8. Praveen
    February 2, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Cheer up… Yes, you missed an important occasion, you would soon have great time with Darsh when he is back with you. Nice pics.

  9. February 2, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Take some Inspiration from Mounted DEW’s Ads……..

    “Darr ke aage jeet hai and jeet ke saath khushi hai.”

    I understand ur feelings. But you have to believe in GEETA “ALL IZZ WELL”.

    • Anupam Singh
      February 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      many things are in pipe-line … after thenewsbond.com soon you will hear a couple of things more this year only .. 🙂

  10. diwakar
    February 4, 2010 at 6:43 am

    well, the felling was mutual or i faced even more problems as i had lost my SIM card in lko and was not in possession of a working SIM in north- eastern state. well the saving grace was that everything was arranged by in-laws. well Upmaan u have narrated my feelings also. good work done but kids were looking good. do u also feel that look much better when they are in only in “LANGOT” patented for new borns.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment